Evidence-checked developments
Status: RESEARCHING (issue version 4). Evidence-checked research draft: every fact is a verbatim quote from a retained source snapshot. Not yet signed off by a technical reviewer.
Circular-C reports progress; qualification remains unverified
A July 6 project-partner disclosure reports lignin adhesive progress. June 10 dates the consortium meeting, not the underlying tests. Named standards and numerical results remain unavailable in this source.
Editorial interpretation: this warrants technical follow-up, not an assumption of commercial readiness.
Limitation: Exact wood-product classes, industrial trials and independent validation are not established by this announcement.
Sourced facts (6) and gaps
- Milestone
- lignin-based thermoset adhesives meeting relevant performance standards
lignin-based thermoset adhesives meeting relevant performance standards
(First results, announcement) - Chemistry
- lignin-based thermoset adhesives
lignin-based thermoset adhesives
(First results, announcement) - Binder
- lignin
lignin
(First results, announcement) - Application
- wood and fibre panels
wood and fibre panels
(Opening description, announcement) - Demonstrated scale
- early material development
early material development
(First results, announcement) - Status
- early material development
early material development
(First results, announcement) - Not assessed
- Geography, Crosslinker, Renewable basis, Fossil components, Capacity, Performance, Manufacturing, Incumbent comparison
Next evidence to seek: Request named standards, exact panel types, formulation and test reports; monitor larger-scale validation.
BindEthics moves Ecohesive to 40 L production batches
A July 10 company release says the brewing-waste adhesive has moved from laboratory testing to 40-litre production-grade batches, made with Chemique Adhesives, with initial batches earmarked for trials at European Tier 1 and eco-plywood manufacturers.
Editorial interpretation: a contract manufacturer and named trial route make this worth a sample request. The 2,000 L figure is a stated pathway and the 6,000 t figure is customer interest; neither is production.
Limitation: No recipe, solids, dosage, press cycle, panel test or independent qualification is published. "100% bio-based" and drop-in compatibility are supplier claims.
Route assigned editorially: the release names brewing by-products but does not disclose the binder chemistry.
Sourced facts (9) and gaps
- Geography
- UNITED KINGDOM
LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM
(Dateline, supplier) - Milestone
- producing 40-litre production-grade batches
progressing from laboratory testing to producing 40-litre production-grade batches
(Paragraph 3, supplier) - Chemistry
- 100% bio-based, formaldehyde-free adhesive — basis: Supplier claim; not certified
Ecohesive™ is a 100% bio-based, formaldehyde-free adhesive
(Sustainable alternative section, supplier) - Renewable basis
- by-products from the brewing industry — basis: Supplier-described feedstock; renewable fraction of the whole formulation not certified
including by-products from the brewing industry
(Sustainable alternative section, supplier) - Application
- engineered wood applications
developed specifically for engineered wood applications
(Sustainable alternative section, supplier) - Demonstrated scale
- 40-litre production-grade batches
40-litre production-grade batches
(Paragraph 3, supplier) - Status
- commencement of commercial customer trials
commencement of commercial customer trials
(Milestones list, supplier) - Capacity
- 2,000 — unit: litres per batch; basis: Supplier-stated pathway; not achieved; status: target; product: Ecohesive adhesive (per batch)
a validated pathway to 2,000-litre manufacturing volumes
(Paragraph 3, supplier) - Manufacturing
- compatible with existing industrial mixing and pressing equipment — basis: Supplier claim; no press trial data
compatible with existing industrial mixing and pressing equipment
(Sustainable alternative section, supplier) - Not assessed
- Binder, Crosslinker, Fossil components, Performance, Incumbent comparison
Next evidence to seek: Request batch records, product type, press cycle, dosage and independent (Bangor or third-party) EN test reports from the announced Tier 1 trials.
5-HMF supply: ResiCare and Axens enter exclusive talks
Michelin ResiCare announced exclusive negotiations with Axens on 8 July to license and deploy its 5-HMF technology, developed with IFPEN. A first unit of about 3,000 t/year at Péage-de-Roussillon is scheduled to start in early 2027.
Editorial interpretation: a dedicated 5-HMF supply would matter for aldehyde-type resins that avoid formaldehyde. The capacity is for a chemical intermediate, not adhesive.
Limitation: Talks, not a concluded deal; plant not yet operating. No wood-panel formulation, emissions, cost or LCA data in this release.
Sourced facts (7) and gaps
- Geography
- France
located in Péage-de-Roussillon, France
(Paragraph 5, announcement) - Milestone
- entered into exclusive negotiations
have entered into exclusive negotiations for a partnership
(Summary bullet 1, announcement) - Chemistry
- 5-hydroxymethylfurfural (5-HMF)
5-hydroxymethylfurfural (5-HMF)
(Paragraph 1, announcement) - Renewable basis
- derived from plant-based resources — basis: Supplier statement; feedstock not specified
renewable alternatives derived from plant-based resources
(Paragraph 4, announcement) - Application
- resins and adhesives — basis: General use; no wood product named
can be used to develop resins and adhesives as well as bio-based polymers
(Paragraph 2, announcement) - Status
- Start-up is scheduled for early 2027
Start-up is scheduled for early 2027
(Paragraph 5, announcement) - Capacity
- 3,000 — unit: tonnes per year; basis: First planned unit; start-up early 2027; status: announced; product: 5-HMF (chemical intermediate, not adhesive)
with a capacity of approximately 3,000 tonnes per year
(Paragraph 5, announcement) - Not assessed
- Binder, Crosslinker, Fossil components, Demonstrated scale, Performance, Manufacturing, Incumbent comparison
Next evidence to seek: Watch for a signed agreement, commissioning, 5-HMF specification and any third-party panel results for HMF-based resins.
Residue lignins fully replace phenol in lab LF resins
A July 8 PLOS One study made resol resins with lignin from chir-pine needles, eucalyptus sawdust or bagasse as the only phenolic component. Chir-pine lignin performed best (3.12 MPa dry lap shear) but stayed below the laboratory PF control (3.40 MPa).
Editorial interpretation: useful feedstock learning for phenolic substitution; it shows lignin structure, not total hydroxyl content, drives bond strength. Formaldehyde is still a reactant.
Limitation: Three replicates, lap-shear joints only, laboratory rather than commercial PF benchmark; panel emissions not measured.
Sourced facts (11) and gaps
- Geography
- Pakistan — basis: Feedstock and lead-author location
collected from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan
(Materials, peer-reviewed) - Milestone
- resol-type lignin-formaldehyde resins under a complete phenol-replacement system
resol-type lignin-formaldehyde resins under a complete phenol-replacement system
(Abstract, peer-reviewed) - Chemistry
- resol-type lignin-formaldehyde resins
resol-type lignin-formaldehyde resins
(Abstract, peer-reviewed) - Binder
- alkaline lignins
synthesized from alkaline lignins isolated from three locally available biomasses
(Abstract, peer-reviewed) - Crosslinker
- formaldehyde
each lignin was reacted with formaldehyde under alkaline conditions
(Abstract, peer-reviewed) - Renewable basis
- chir pine needles (CP), eucalyptus sawdust (ESD), and sugarcane bagasse (SB) — basis: Lignin source only; formaldehyde, NaOH, wheat flour and bark filler also present
chir pine needles (CP), eucalyptus sawdust (ESD), and sugarcane bagasse (SB)
(Abstract, peer-reviewed) - Fossil components
- formaldehyde (37%) — basis: Formaldehyde reactant retained; origin not stated
then added to formaldehyde (37%)
(Methods: LF synthesis, peer-reviewed) - Application
- single-lap joints prepared from poplar wood veneers
single-lap joints prepared from poplar wood veneers
(Methods: bonding, peer-reviewed) - Demonstrated scale
- lab-scale prototype
A lab-scale prototype development
(Title, peer-reviewed) - Performance
- 3.12 ± 0.01 MPa — unit: MPa; conditions: Dry; poplar veneer; approx. 1400 kPa, 180 °C, 3–4 min; basis: Chir-pine lignin LF adhesive; method: Lap shear, ASTM D906 / ISO 4587 principles, n=3; comparator: Laboratory PF control
dry strength decreased in the order CP (3.12 ± 0.01 MPa)
(Results, Table 7, peer-reviewed) - Incumbent comparison
- 3.40 ± 0.03 MPa — basis: Laboratory PF, dry; not a commercial adhesive
The laboratory PF control showed dry and wet strengths of 3.40 ± 0.03 MPa
(Results, Table 7, peer-reviewed) - Not assessed
- Status, Capacity, Manufacturing
Next evidence to seek: Seek panel-level tests (EN 314 / EN 319), free-formaldehyde and emission data, and a commercial PF comparison.
Acrylic-acid watch: enzyme cascade from methanol
A July 21 Nature Communications paper reports an engineered acrylic acid synthase in a cell-free methanol-to-acrylic-acid cascade, reaching 4.3 g/L in 16 hours in a 1 mL reaction.
Editorial interpretation: a route to acrylic monomers from one-carbon feedstock, relevant to the acrylic dispersion watch. It is upstream chemistry, not an adhesive result.
Limitation: Methanol origin not stated, so renewable carbon is not shown. Cost figures are modelled scenarios. Formaldehyde is a pathway intermediate.
Sourced facts (6) and gaps
- Milestone
- We establish an enzymatic methanol-to-acrylic acid (MAAP) pathway
We establish an enzymatic methanol-to-acrylic acid (MAAP) pathway
(Abstract, peer-reviewed) - Chemistry
- acrylic acid synthase (AAS)
designated acrylic acid synthase (AAS)
(Abstract, peer-reviewed) - Renewable basis
- methanol — basis: Methanol origin of tested material not stated; renewable carbon not demonstrated
biosynthesis of acrylic acid from methanol within 16 hours
(Results: in vitro biosynthesis, peer-reviewed) - Application
- adhesives — basis: Acrylic acid end use in general; no wood adhesive tested
the primary precursor for manufacturing diapers, coatings, paints, and adhesives
(Introduction, peer-reviewed) - Demonstrated scale
- total volume of 1 mL
with a total volume of 1 mL
(Methods: biosynthesis from methanol, peer-reviewed) - Performance
- 4.3 g L−1 — unit: g/L titre; conditions: 16 h cell-free cascade from methanol, 1 mL reaction; basis: Acrylic acid in reaction mixture; isolated purity not reported here; method: HPLC; comparator: Microbial routes below 3% yield (authors, Table 1)
with a titer of 4.3 g L−1 (59.7 mM)
(Results: in vitro biosynthesis, peer-reviewed) - Not assessed
- Geography, Binder, Crosslinker, Fossil components, Status, Capacity, Manufacturing, Incumbent comparison
Next evidence to seek: Look for isolated-product purity, enzyme productivity and reuse at larger volume, and a renewable-methanol chain of custody.
On hold
hold Lignin-zein debondable plywood adhesive (24 Jun 2026, doi:10.1039/d6gc02129h)Author manuscript recovered, but veneer thickness (1.5 vs 1 mm) and dry spread (83 vs ~76 g/m²) differ between its sections; publisher version not yet compared. hold Casein adhesive on beech compared with PVAc (16 Aug 2026, doi:10.3390/f17080972)Retained HTML was revised on 4 September, after the quarter cutoff; comparison withheld until the original August version is recovered. hold Flame-retardant wood adhesive prepared from pulp mill residues (Date not established, doi:10.1039/d6gc02014c)Repository access blocked (HTTP 403); only Crossref metadata retrieved, so no methods or results are reported. Sources
- Circular-C project marks first year progress — link. Published 6 Jul 2026. Original project-partner announcement inspected; a project claim, not independent industrial validation. Exact panel type and qualification details absent from retained source.
- BindEthics: Commercial scale-up begins for formaldehyde-free adhesive alternative — link. Published 10 Jul 2026. Company-authored release via EIN Presswire syndication; company site not inspected. Supplier claims, no independent test data.
- Michelin and Axens enter exclusive discussions on 5-HMF, developed with IFPEN — link. Published 8 Jul 2026, version 5 Aug 2026. Company page retrieved directly; page metadata shows July 8 publication and August 5 modification (within cutoff). Earlier July wording not compared.
- Towards an enzyme cascade synthesis of the bulk chemical acrylic acid (Nature Communications) — doi:10.1038/s41467-026-75484-w. Published 21 Jul 2026. Open-access article HTML retrieved directly (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0); supplementary files not inspected.
- A lab-scale prototype development of lignin-formaldehyde (LF) resin (PLOS One) — doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0352893. Published 8 Jul 2026. Open-access JATS XML retrieved directly (CC BY 4.0); includes published peer-review history.
40 leads shown out of 342 discovery records (Crossref and Google News), scanned through 2026-08-31 with deepseek-flash (44 calls). Machine-triaged discovery leads (DeepSeek flash). Not verified evidence: each needs primary-source review before it enters a quarterly issue.